## Manny Bacon Post 1758 Newsletter

Daniel Briscoe, Commander Verissimo, Adjutant February/March 2009 Barbara

## **Post Meeting Schedule**

Our next Post meeting will be Wednesday, March 11, 2009 from **7:00-8:30 pm** at the East Fishkill Community Center. The Pot of Gold balance is now \$618.00. If you are at the meeting and your name is called you win half! The name called at the February meeting was John Boyle. The remaining Post meetings for 2009 are as follows:

April 14, 2009 (2 <sup>nd</sup> Tuesday)
May 12, 2009 (2 <sup>nd</sup> Tuesday)
June 9, 2009 (2 <sup>nd</sup> Tuesday)
August 11, 2009 (2 <sup>nd</sup> Tuesday)
September 1, 2009 (1st Tuesday)
October 13, 2009 (2 <sup>nd</sup> Tuesday)
November 10, 2009 (2 <sup>nd</sup> Tuesday)

Please note that there are no meetings in the months of July and December. At the next meeting, we will be updating the Post Committees and compiling a list for the Post Color Guard. Please come and be involved! We look forward to seeing you.

If anyone is interested, the following meeting and events are coming up:

Dutchess	County	February 18 <sup>th</sup> , Pawling Post
American	Legion	215. 6:30 dinner, 7:30
meeting		meeting
DC Boy Scout Band		February 22 <sup>nd</sup> , Castle Point
Concert	for	VA Hospital. 2:00 pm
Veterans		Refreshments (donuts/cookies/
		etc.) will be provided by OUR
		POST.

9 <sup>th</sup> District Meeting	March 8 <sup>th</sup> , Beacon Post 203.
	Lunch-12:00, meeting-1:00
	pm

## St. Jude's Children's Hospital Radiothon

WRWD 107.3 fm will be holding its annual St. Jude's Children's Hospital Radiothon on March 6<sup>th</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup>. We will be collecting donations at Stewart's in Hopewell Junction from 8:00 am approximately 2:00 pm. We will also be collecting donations at the Stop & Shop Beekman from 9:00 am approximately 3:00 pm. Please come out and help. If you can, please notify the Adjutant at 845-724-4666 Post or barbverissimo@verizon.net. Thanks.

## **Membership**

We are now in the 2009 membership year. Our goal this year is 86 members and we currently have 80 paid up members. We need 7 more for 100%. If you have not paid your dues yet, you should have received your second dues renewal notice from National. Please send them in as soon as possible. *If you paid your dues* and received a second dues notice, **please disregard.** This does happen on occasion when Department process the renewals by the cut off date set by National. They did get behind when the Department Membership Coordinator was recently hospitalized. Thank you to everyone that has sent in their dues. your address or phone number changes, please let me know as soon as possible so that I may make the changes with

National and Department. The following members have paid their dues for 2009:

Juan R. Alfonso, Paul W. Annetts (PUFL), Anthony J. Aras, Mark R. Baaden (PUFL), Paul J. Banick Jr., John Boyle, Daniel C. Briscoe, William D. Brooks, Theodore Carrozza, Anthony C. Ciulla (PUFL), Francis J. Connolly, Rick Croniser, Gary Davis, Norman Dauerer, William B. DeMatte, Frederick Detheridge, David R. Dimilia, Stephen Donahue, Andrew Donovan, Joseph F. Duffy (PUFL), Hale T. Engel, Edwin G. Firth, Joseph Green III, George Grimm, Mike Hansen, Daniel Lalor, Robert G. Hack, Kevin Hathorn, Peter Idema III, Eugene W. Jarrett, Dennis Kapuscinski, Simon Kaufman, Donald Kellam, Jack King, Thomas Klink, Neil Klock, Michael Lipton, John Lynn, John M. Lyons (PUFL), Anthony Marinaccio, Douglas A. McHoul, John M. McMahon, Emiddio D. Marcello, Melvin Moss, William Muller, Richard Muncey Jr., Evert Munning Jr., Clarence Munson III, Fred J. Niebler, Martin Nolan, Oberhauser, Donald В. Palmer. Iohn Parsons (59 year member), Samuel K. Patton (PUFL), John M. Pizzuti, Willard V. Puzza, Dennis Rampe, James D. Reynolds (PUFL), Vincent Richards Ir., Lewis I. Rompala (PUFL), Lawrence Russell (60 year member), Nicholas M. Russo, Joseph P. Ryan (PUFL), Ralph C. Schwartz, Richard J. Silva, John V. Speirs, Clifford Taffner, Michael I. Tomkovitch, David E. Vallee Sr., Joseph Varacek, Barbara A. Verissimo (PUFL). Dana I. Verissimo (PUFL). Paul M. White, Paul Wilson, David L. Wood (PUFL), Claude Wuytack and Howard E. Yeomans.

The following members have yet to pay their 2009 dues: Joseph Dennerlein Jr., Michael Dennerlein, James Forrester, Ken Gravelle, Kieran Lalor, Fred Lohrfink, and Thomas Strauss.

I would also like to welcome two new members to our Post. *Catherine Munning* is a new member and *Jack Leone* has recently transferred his membership. We are very happy to have these veterans become members of the Manny Bacon Post 1758.

Barbara Verissimo Adjutant/Membership Officer